The Implementation of ICD-10 in Texas

By Diana Adams, RHIA

To discuss the International Classification of Diseases (ICD) it helps to first outline a brief history of this classification system.

The ICD began in 1893 as the Bertillon or International List of Causes of Death, when it introduced at the International Statistical Institute.

The World Health Organization (WHO) became the custodian of the ICD system in 1948. From there, the following versions have been published:

  • ICD-6 in 1949 (also implemented in the United States at that time),
  • ICD-7 in 1955,
  • ICD-8 in 1965,
  • ICD-9 in 1976,
  • ICD-10 in 1989 (not yet adopted by the US),
  • ICD-11 in 2015, and
  • ICD-12 in 2025.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has stated clearly that a country cannot move to ICD-11 until ICD-10 has been implemented.

For Texas physicians who participate in Medicaid and APR-DRG reimbursement, they will need to implement ICD-10. The increased specificity of illnesses and conditions that the new codes afford will allow physicians to produce better quality data. This will assist doctors when filing for health care reimbursement and will help them better manage the classification of diseases.

If you are a physician who needs to implement ICD-10, TMA has posted this video that provides some good ICD-10 explanation and tips.

–Diana Adams can be reached at